Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 36

    Finisterre / Fisterra

    October 2, 2023 in Spain ⋅ 🌬 70 °F

    Earlier, we were on the bus to in Finisterre/Fisterra, traveling along the coast for several hours.
    As we had to load EVERYTHING UP in our packs….that means things I bought for family. My pack is a bit bigger then it was. It’s taller then I am now!! Lol
    As we passed one town on a beautiful beach after another I was smiling! I couldn’t take decent photos out of a bus window but I wish I could!
    And there are Horrarios! ( my favorite thing here along the coast!) we even saw a ‘field’ of them!. So many alongside houses on a hill I couldn’t resist making comment to Tammy (who I had promised that I would not mention Horraios to anymore 🤣) She just chuckled and shook her head.
    We’re at in Finisterre/Fisterra ( Galacian dialect ?). Ordering food at 3:19pm as we need to hike at 6:30pm up to the light house to be at the end of the world by 8:15pm, sunset🌅 with headlamps ( charged) and wine ready to go. 🌅🌅. A great finish!!!
    ******
    I need to make comment here: Tammy has been so amazing,. I wasn’t in the right head space after Phil’s death when I left for this trip. Daily she made arrangements for our next stay- reading reviews for great, incredibly affordable stays ( $19-$34/ night!!!) picking longer or shorter walking days to keep us on our time line. Tammy helped with food translations, a definite weak spot for me here, made arrangements for moving luggage ( whole other story 😊). She has done so much!! Thank you, Tammy!!❤️
    Another big help the first 2 weeks was Natalie, from Belgium. She teased 😉 and pushed me on!! ‘ Ah Come on!!’ (With her great Belgium/French accent). 😃❤️
    I was so much in a fog in the beginning, and I hadn’t been out of the country in over 10 years, I lost my phone ( it fell out at a bus station), wasn’t accustomed to watching for ARROWS ( yellow and how you follow the Camino/ just a bit important!! ), these two were directing me at first. 🤣.
    I wasn’t much use to them. I feel I am in the groove and solid now and it’s time to go home.
    All of the challenges, the difficulties, the fun, beauty, many many miles were the Best recipe for my mind set at the time!
    Thanks to my husband, Ron for encouraging me to make this journey!
    ****** Back to today
    This early evening we bought a bottle of wine, our proprietress had wine glasses and an opener. We walked the about 3+km up and then down and the up was about 10 flights of stairs. A good evening walk ( see the monument/marker) up to the light house at the point Fin de Terre (the end of the earth) . It’s a separate Camino, so that marker there actually shows mile point 0.00.
    We sat, opened the bottle of wine, chatted, laughed*** and at times sat quietly. **We were laughing because we had grabbed a GREAT seat! No one else had nabbed. …. Yep! Really great view….. right next to the septic system with a crack in the lid. Phew! Hahaha
    Tammy asked if I wanted to move while we were both laughing. My response,” Why move, all we have smelled for the last 2 weeks in highlands has been cow*****. 🤣🤣. I put my rain coat and back pack over the crack, the breeze shifted a bit and no problem.👍👍. Hahaha
    The view, wine and companionship was a perfect end. A little chocolate, a little wine…. And an amazing peaceful view!!
    Boats heading out to sea to fish the night catch. Clouds that were billowy sheep one moment and a school of fish the next. We didn’t get the dramatic colors one might hope for but it was the majestic peace, I feel we wanted. I am so grateful for such a journey.
    One more night in Santiago de Compostela tomorrow. Then home. Hopefully, done with adventures for this trip. But….. one never knows…. 😉
    Read more