Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 25 - Cazadilla to Sahagún - 23km

    September 23, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 18 °C

    I was up and at ‘em at 7 and on the road by 7:30. It is now cold in the mornings, it was only 6 degrees this morning so I had pants and jacket on. Today’s goal was 23km. The first town was 6km away so the plan was to have breakfast there. When I arrived, there was one bar open, and they only had a few things in packages, so I had a packaged croissant and brownie.

    The next town was only 3kms away but I was starting to get hot so I stopped again and “zipped my legs off”, took off my jacket and long sleeve shirt. Skip (from Connecticut) came in as well as I was resting. I had met him a few days ago when he accidentally walked too far and had to take a taxi back as the place he walked to was full but he had a reservation where we were. I would tell you the name of the town, but they really just all blend together now.

    Skip and I walked together for awhile. We stopped in San Nichol for a bite to eat, then there was only 8kms to go. After about 4kms, I could see that I needed to take my break. My left leg and blister were acting up. We parted ways just before town. I arrived at my albergue around 3pm. It was good that I had a reservation as they just filled up. It is a parish albergue which I wanted.

    We had a pilgrims mass tonight and it was in both English and Spanish. After the mass, there was a special pilgrims blessing. When the blessing was done, then we had to each take a special message specifically for us that was printed on a rolled up paper. Mine is: “You are the light of the world. A city built on a hill cannot be hid. Let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father in heaven” Mt 5:14.16

    Dinner is in about 10 mins (at 8pm). It is a communal dinner, but we each had to bring something that would feed 4 people so it is like a potluck. There is a grocery store across the street, so I picked up some cooked pasta. It should be interesting.

    TTYL
    Read more