Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 33 - El Acebo to Ponferrada - 16km

    October 1, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 30 °C

    I am an idiot. No worries, I am now laughing at my idiocy. Last night, I had a private room so I decided to take the inserts out of my boots to give them a chance to air out and low and behold, the original insert was still in the boot and came out at the same time. WHAT?! No wonder my boots were so tight and hot all the time. I took them out as well.

    So, in the morning, I decided to wear only my hiking socks (no injinji socks) and the one arch support insert. My blisters were pretty small and I wrapped them. Let’s see if that helps, because the pain yesterday was crazy.

    Well today, NO PAIN! In fact, I didn’t have to stop my regular 5kms to air out my feet. The toes have so much breathing space, I couldn’t stop talking about it. I ran into Yannette on the trail and we talked about it for awhile.

    The first 7kms was all down hill, similar to the trail yesterday, all rocks, but today, I could enjoy it. I felt so much relief, I can’t believe it took me 30 FN days to figure that out .... again, I am an idiot!

    In Molinaseca we ran into Jenna so we all had a drink and then walked the final 9kms together. We took the back route in through Campo which was nice. Jenna had an albergue booked so we followed her and are staying at the same place. Quite modern and nice. We shared a wash and dry, went to see the castle, then had some food. Very nice relaxing day.

    Tomorrow I am planning a short day as well (15km). I am heading to Cacabelos, it is the town that Joerg first told me he loved me.

    TTYL
    Read more