Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 190

    History in the rain

    January 14, 2017 in the United States ⋅ 🌧 7 °C

    We often go someplace else to enjoy history and tend to neglect the fact that it can be found right in our backyard. It was a rainy Saturday but we were all itching to get out of the house. So we grabbed our rain coats, I put on my converse rain shoes (so excited anytime I can wear these) and packed the dogs in the car. In Clarksville, a growing city in TN bordering KY, on top a 200 ft bluff overlooking the Cumberland River stands Fort Defiance. A few rain drops fell through the tree covered winding .08 paved trail taking you over the ground. You'll pass over 2 very well constructed wooden bridges, many scenic overlooks (in winter) and if you look closely, you'll see many trees labeled for wilderness knowledge. Many know it was once a battle grounds during the civil war but the land has seen so much more, American Indians, trading center, settlement, runaway and freed slaves have all occupied this area. It was a beautiful way to spend a rainy day outside. I sit cozy in my home now with 2 tired dogs at my feet, listening to the down pour that has just begun and I am thankful for our sprinkles this morning.Read more