Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 28

    Locos!!!

    April 23, 2023 in Chile ⋅ ☀️ 70 °F

    On Sunday my friend Soledad invited us to her house for lunch and what a great time we had. First I loved meeting her husband and two sons, one in high school and one in college. Her husband Manuel started honing his cooking skills during the pandemic and we got the benefit of our first authentic home cooked Chilean meal.

    Now y’all know I’m not a very adventurous eater. My diet is pretty simple. Mostly fruits, veggies, grains, and legumes, and occasionally fish if it’s cook perfectly to my liking. But when Soledad brought out the locos I couldn’t not try it. What is locos, you might be wondering? Well I was wondering too, and she didn’t know the English translation. I knew I it was some kind of sea food and was really worried that I wouldn't like it, but it turn out to be so delicious I asked for seconds. I know you’re all proud of me, aren’t you?

    It turns out that locos is abalone, a type of large sea snail. It’s traditionally served with mayo and lemon juice, as Soledad served it. Yum. The main course was reineta, a popular local Chilean fish, served with salad, rice pilaf and veggies. Now how Manuel managed to make a fish that was a perfect match for my picky taste buds I will never know, but thank you Manuel. It was delicious. Perfectly browned and seasoned so that every bite was bursting with flavor. Another great day in Santiago!
    Read more