Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Aimless stroll + hummus!

    April 2, 2015 in Turkey ⋅ ⛅ 11 °C

    Half an hour rest, shower, then back out. Started walking towards Fatih. Wherever you look you can find a minaret. And these smaller mosques are huge and grand. Each time I saw a new one I thought, "This must be the Haghia Sophia" Fool me...
    Nice to hear the adhaans again. Senses overloaded with shops, sellers, lights, stalls, people.. Decided on a restaurant with some help from TripAdvisor. Best. Hummus & Lamb. EVER! And even better still only about 3 quid. The hummus was creamy and buttery and the meat, juicy and full of flavour.
    And that continued my walk. Walked past shops, more mosques, Istanbul Uni, a rag market. Eventually reached upon a bazaar district made up of long narrow alleyways sectioned into different specialities. From my brief time there (it was getting late and I was nackered), I saw jeans, jeans, all type of jeans, antiques, (genuine as well), books and plates. Will have to have an extensive look tomorrow. On the way back considered purchasing either a knife, pepper spray, taster or knuckle duster for safety. It was beginning to get dark. I stopped to watch some university kids play basketball. On the way home Maghrib adhaans started and I was able to slip into the huge mosque I was walking past. I made wudhu in the outer courtyard before going in. It was so grand I was convinced it was Hagia Sophia. Turns out it was Sultan Camii.

    Got home, made phone calls, sorted some stuff out for tomorrow. Ear plugs and a well needed sleep..
    Read more