Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27

    Mosque, American & Performing Arts

    April 8, 2015 in Turkey ⋅ ⛅ 7 °C

    Back along the bridge I went to Sulaymaniye Mosque. Beautiful. I prayed and relaxed before making my way to Hodjapasha Cultural Centre. Realising I had time to kill I was convinced to go to a restaurant for some tea. It was on the fourth floor with large sliding windows overlooking the water. Here I met an American psychotherapist working for the military and we spoke at great length about Islam, current affairs and so on until I realised I was actually running late. Rushing I reached the centre in time. Although my seat was terrible I was excited to see this performance set in an authentic dome shaped hammam. The visuals were stunning, projected on the walls whilst the story unfolding about a harem girl who falls for a Dutch ambassador during the Tulip Period. The music, visuals and dancing was excellent. Definitely a highlight of my visit so far.

    Pooped, I walked back to my hotel, surprised to find out how lively it was. Throngs of people were out and shops were open everywhere as I walked back at half 11 at night. As I came up to Galata I found many side street clubs blaring music, 2 or 3 on each street. Everyone seemed to be heading in one general direction, away from Taksim, I should have asked where.

    I finally arrived at my hotel and exhausted, I conked out.
    Read more