Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 56

    Aswan - The Slums

    May 7, 2015 in Egypt ⋅ ⛅ 35 °C

    I figured it would be a nice idea to walk back through the local neighbourhood. It wasn't a slum as such but it was defiantly a poorer district, however, there was anything but poverty in these people's hearts. The streets were narrow making me feel as if I were back in Cairo's Old City, except with less noise and pollution. Many adults and children alike greeted us with honest curiosity. At one point 3 children started following us and I took their picture and showed it to them, hoping this would fulfill their curiosity. Little did I know of their appetites! They continued to follow me and my travel companion, and as we walked and conversed with them, asking them their names and telling them ours, the small band grew to a small mob of excited boys and girls. Thinking to placate them I asked them where the nearest dukaan (shop) was and bought a few packets of bubblegum which I distributed around. They flew into a frenzy but finally were satisfied that we had paid our baksheesh and so after some minutes the last of the children lost interest and stopped tailing us.

    One of the nicest experiences so far...
    Read more