Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    More Grand Canyon

    May 31, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 21 °C

    Today I headed back to the Grand Canyon to do more exploring. The place covers a huge area, but I was just going to do more in the South Rim.

    My first plan was to head down into the canyon a bit. It's a long way down and to get to the river is an overnight hike, so I did the Bright Angel trail down to the 1.5 mile rest house. That involved a descent of over 1000ft.. and obviously had to come back up again. The views were good though and it was nice to see the walls close up.

    I then took the shuttle bus to another part of the canyon and the views were also amazing, you could see the Colorado river, it was cool, then there were some clouds and that was cool... basically it's very pretty.

    Cool thing I read was that the canyon is so deep, the temperature increases as you go lower and the top of the rim can be 21C while the inner canyon can be 32C!

    Also... next to the visitors centre, there is dedicated space for people to protest against whatever they want, which is cool. When I walked past, cookie monster was there, he didn't say what he was protesting against, but I'm sure it had something to do with cookies.
    Read more