Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Old Dubai

    January 14 in the United Arab Emirates ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    After arriving late last night, I slept until about midday to recover.

    My first stop of the holiday was the Etihad Museum, it was about how the United Arab Emirates formed through the uniting of Arab Emirates... Britain was involved obviously.
    It mainly spoke about how these awesome leaders came together and built it to be what it is today, and I think it's true to a point, but they didn't talk much about oil... I think oil helped.
    They also asked if I wanted to draw something from the museum, so I did, probably kicked the butt of all the kids who entered.
    They also had a flag outside... world's biggest obviously.

    Had chips and hot dogs for food, with a twist. It was really good, but way too many chips.

    Next stop was the historic neighbourhoods and the souqs. It was very cool, a maze of narrow alleys with endless mosques. Took a trip over the river in an 'abra' and walked around the different souqs. It was fun and the people were friendly, even if I did have to put up with their sales pitches. They couldn't comprehend why I was there if I didn't want to buy anything... I think they thought it was a tactic to get a cheaper price...
    The gold souq was very different and more upmarket, can't believe people would actually wear some of the gold outfits on display...
    Read more