Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Dubai Mall and Burj Khalifa

    January 16 in the United Arab Emirates ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    Headed over to Dubai Mall after the flowers. Went for a normal taxi, until I calculated that it would cost me £120 using his 'meter'. So I quickly jumped out again for a £15 uber. Unfortunately, the uber driver was new, he told me he was new several times, I then had to direct him after I said he was driving in the wrong direction...

    Eventually getting to Dubai Mall, it is huge. Walked passed the Aquarium, a dinosaur fossil and the ice rink. Tried to visit a couple of shops, but at one point I just got totally lost and spun around.

    I then visited Burj Khalifa and went up to the observation deck. The building is much narrower than I thought it was going to be. The views were good, but there was plenty I couldn't see, which just shows how spread out Dubai is.

    After staring at the views for ages including dusk, I headed to the Dubai Fountain which plays every 30 minutes. The show I caught had an Arabic song that I obviously didn't know... think I had just missed one with a Lionel Richie song. 🙄

    I started feeling quite rough today, so didn't do everything I wanted, think I probably picked up a cold from the flight...
    Read more