Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    2. Isle of Clouds

    January 23, 2022 in Cape Verde ⋅ ☁️ 23 °C

    It’s warm. At 25 degrees Becky thinks otherwise. Amazing what cloud cover and a bit of wind can do - she genuinely has goosebumps. Back home it’s 5 degrees out.

    Breakfast is pretty good - Becky told me that she had seen people rating the breakfast on Facebook as the best meal of the day. I’m a big fan of the waffles and pancakes section. Aside from that, it’s fairly standard breakfast on holiday fare.

    Today, I suspect like most of our days here will be, was quite simple. We sat by the pool drinking and only really leaving for food. On the occasions that Lily got grumpy, we went for a little walk and she soon calmed down.

    For lunch I was just going to grab a burger from the poolside bar, but Becky suggested we went back to the buffet as it had more choice. I still had a burger.

    I spent most of my day reading Will Smith’s autobiography, which has been quite interesting so far. In the afternoon I went for a swim in the pool even though it has cooled down. The pool was pretty cold but, being the stubborn ass I am, I continued on in and ordered a drink at the swim up bar - well, you have to, don’t you?

    Late afternoon we headed back to the room to shower and get ready for dinner. This included an impromptu bath with Lily in a paddling pool in the middle of the shower/kitchen area. Which, now I say it, sounds weird.

    For dinner we were back at the buffet. This time I stuck to things I knew for the most part, and between Becky and I we managed to have all the deserts, we think.

    Eventually we retired to bed with a drink and Lily was far more cooperative about bedtime this time around.
    Read more