Satellite
Show on map
  • My country it's of thee!

    January 21, 2017 in India ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    Do you know that thrill when you breathe in the clear country-side air, as you woosh by open fields and paddies, only to cough and choke on the sudden smell of dung and rot?
    Yeah, if you do, you know what I am talking about. So when I visited my country side relatives, after almost 10 years, it was a fond remembrance of how much I had loved this place.
    Clear skies and a slight chill greeted us during our morning ride. My father, a doctor, who still practices there had offered to bring us along. By the time we reached the place, I was dismayed to find that it was little like how I remembered it. The by-product of urbanization of cities has polluted the villages.
    Mere photographs cannot capture the thrill of looking over a village scene. The taste of country side food and of course the happiness at seeing people shocked at how much grown up I have become.
    I learnt two very important things that day. Looking at the people's profound, grateful reaction to my father's treatment, I realized that being attached to a person's roots is very important. And IT work was not the best line of work for me.
    Read more