Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1,084

    Gee! These places look familiar!

    July 14, 2018 in India

    Backpack? Check.
    Extra undies? Check.
    Speakers? Check.
    Tickets? Oops! Almost missed those!

    Going back to one of my fav places for a trip, after almost 3 years, made me a little fidgety and forgetful. And I could be excused for that! The royal city of Mysuru holds a special place in my heart.
    As my bus wound it's way from the City Bus Stand, through the twisty roads of Gokulam, I felt a sense of belonging. This city had sheltered me for 6 months and I was grateful for it.

    Upon reaching Infosys, it was a different story altogether. The respect I got, as a senior employee, made me pause and pinch myself.
    To test if further, I asked a young trainee to get me a glass of water.
    I almost choked when he came back and said, "I didn't know if you wanted hot or cold, so I brought both glasses."

    Boasting of a world class campus, (look at my complete trip for more pictures) Infosys Mysore is the epitome of cleanliness and eco-friendliness! I checked in and was welcomed to a small personal guesthouse, complete with all the amenities I could think of. After dumping my backpack on the bed (the backpack jumps right back at you, the mattresses are that springy!), I zipped off for a bicycle ride (no fuel vehicles are allowed inside). After a couple of miles, I was drenched in sweat but grinning and happy. (Note to self: Your gym membership back home, is not meant to gather dust. Use it, you're fat!)

    Time flies by, doesn't it? There's something about watching the food court table where you and your friends used to sit everyday, the wayside halt where you used to sing and dance, and realising there is now a new younger group of people who do the same. The place hasn't changed, just the people have.
    After a quick meal, I met up with Devika, and after an hour of chatting, came up with a plan to visit the Chamundi temple the next day! An innocent plan which would have repercussions I have nightmares about.. The fateful plan where I would re-evaluate my life and only hope to come out of my ordeal alive! To be continued... :P
    Read more