Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Getaria to Ibiri Auzoa

    May 24, 2023 in Spain ⋅ 🌫 14 °C

    I didn't remember this stage as being particularly difficult when I did it five years ago, but maybe being five years older makes a difference. My calves never hurt, they just didn't want to take another uphill step. And this day had LOTS of uphill steps. According to my Fitbit, the equivalent of 380 flights of stairs!

    I walked all day with Emily from North Carolina who is only 28 and runs ultra marathons - she was kind enough to wait for me - a lot! We stayed in the same albergue last night, and it seemed that we were the only two there.

    Although it was a tough day it was really beautiful as we took the coastal alternative on the "Ruta de Flysch" so named from really interesting sedimentary rock formations that formed over millions of years.

    The albergue I'm at tonight is well organized with lockers for backpacks and bins to bring belongings into the dorms. They served a communal dinner. At my table there were two Italian men, and three women - Australian, French, and American.
    Read more