Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Ibiri Auzoa to Markina

    May 25, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 13 °C

    While yesterday was more difficult that I remembered today was much easier than I recall from five years ago. I took my time walking, and was still second to arrive at my albergue shortly after they opened at noon. It's a place where I enjoyed staying before, so I had made a reservation.

    My walk today was powered by half a bag of potato chips. The listing for the albergue where I stayed last night listed breakfast for €5, but it was a bag containing things that I thought that I'd only eat half of, so I declined, because my Camino apps said that there was a bar (restaurant) just a few kilometers away. Unfortunately, it didn't open until 10:00, so I finished a package of potato chips that I bought yesterday. I also had some cashews, an orange and a chocolate bar in case I really got hungry.

    At this point the Camino went inland and much of today's walk was on country roads with horses, sheep, and cows along the way. I won't see the ocean again until I reach Bilbao in a few days.
    Read more