Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Markina to Gernika

    May 26, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 13 °C

    I'm a little behind on posting so I'm writing this three days after the fact, so probably just mostly pictures

    I walked about 26 km today with lots of ups and downs as is typical for this route. Much of the day the Camino was along a little stream in the shade, and at other times it passed through farmland with cows, goats, and sheep. I had a fun meet up with another Camino forum member who is walking backwards along the route and counting pilgrims as he goes - I was number 15 for the day.

    The hotel that I booked in Gernika had a automated reception machine that sort of resembled an ATM. You enter in the code that was emailed when the reservation was made, then it has a scanner for your ID. After everything checks out it dispenses your room key and a code to enter the building.

    I went to dinner with the group of five Canadians I had met the night before and Emily from North Carolina who I had been walking with previously. We chose a pizza place which had excellent pizza and dined outside.

    An overall good day.
    Read more