Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Castro Urdiales to Liendo

    May 31, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    Today I decided to "wing it" and set out without a reservation for a place to spend the night. There were a couple of options - one that was much shorter, but I wasn't paying attention and ended up on the longer route that went inland a bit, so I missed some ocean views along the way. But after a big hill I was walking through some nice countryside with of course cows, sheep, goats, etc.

    I met a couple from Roseburg who I think were smart enough to take the shorter route. But I ended up at the public albergue in Liendo where I've met a lot of people who I'm sure I'll be seeing again for the days to come. I'm also glad that I took a different route than I did when I was on the Camino del Norte 5 years ago. It's often nicer to be in the smaller towns like this one where it's easier to get to know my fellow pilgrims.
    Read more