Satellite
Show on map
  • Day Nine

    April 8, 2020 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    Off to town early to take advantage of oldie’s shopping hours. Dropped Michele’s box back and filled it with a lemon cake and some proteas which have just come into flower with this somewhat unseasonal cool spell. Her kelpie has just had eight pups and they are gorgeous and the mother is so good. Sorry I didn’t get a photo as I was dropping the box and heading off. I was already running late as I took a wrong turn getting to Michele’s which took me 15 minutes to make up. Not sure that time really matters so much at the moment.

    Finally made the supermarket and saw someone I knew in every aisle! Bron & Geoff, Helen H, Gaye M, Kathy Z, Laurie & Marie, and then Sandy down the street. Caught up with all at a distance and with gloves on! Bev (my sister who has lung problems) emails her shopping list and today I got a couple of takeaway lattes and we sat at a distance on her verandah and had a chat. She is on her own and hasn’t been out for fourteen days and I thought she might be hanging out for a latte. Lady who owns Rustic Cafe is now just selling over the counter and was explaining she is managing due to local support for which she is grateful.

    Picked up bread from the bakery and Steve thanked me for supporting them during these difficult times. He seems to be working with only one staff member and no doubt the baking staff have been cut back too. It is nice buying from folk who are so appreciative.

    Home for lunch (Hide’s pies) with John and a few farm chores before checking on how the dozer driver Mick is going. Water hole looks great. Crossovers will be done after Easter to fit in with his other commitments.

    Picked up the mail to find a lovely Easter parcel of decorated shortbread biscuits from the Cole family. It seems a shame to eat them so we will look at them until temptation becomes too great.
    Read more