Satelit
Tunjukkan pada peta
  • Hari 12

    Doolin to Adare (with Galway).

    8 Jun 2015, Ireland ⋅ ⛅ 13 °C

    Had breakfast with a great view of Doolin. The rooms of the B&B were named after writers. Our room was the James Joyce room. Across the hall was the George Bernard Shaw room. On the wall in our room was a famous James Joyce quote:-
    I am tomorrow, or some future day, what I establish today.
    I am today what I established yesterday or some previous day.
    Headed for Adare via Kilrush and Tarbert. We crossed the River Shannon by ferry from Killimer to Tarbert.
    Checked into our farm stay - Graigue Cottage - a beautiful old cottage on a dairy farm.
    We then had to drive back to Galway to pick up our new wedding rings.
    When planning this holiday, and while we are travelling, we used a book, Back Roads Ireland, as a reference. Our daughter, Candice, bought it for us as a way to encourage us to visit Ireland. On the page on Adare, there is a picture of the Blue Door Restaurant. We found it and went there for dinner. Lovely food, just one small issue and, as we're in County Limerick, I penned this:-
    When I can't get a Guinness, I'll always have a beer.
    But, in Ireland, there's surely no such fear.
    In a restaurant last night
    I got one hell of a fright.
    The waiter said, “WE DON'T HAVE GUINNESS HERE!”
    Baca lagi