Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 43

    Gallipoli (Anzac Cove)

    June 21, 2015 in Turkey ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    It is so hard to describe how I felt being here, I honestly didn't think it would affect me as much as it did. As I got out of the bus and began walking up towards the ANZAC wall situated in the very place our men arrived in 1915 I was overwhelmed with emotions. I had tears in my eyes as I sat on the shore looking up to the beautiful but difficult terrain that they had to endure. I sat there silently paying my respects to the men who died in the battle. I am honoured and proud to call myself an Australian. I believe that every Australian would benefit from visiting Gallipoli, just being here has given me a better understanding of what our men did for our country.

    LEST WE FORGET.

    "THOSE HEROS THAT SHED THEIR BLOOD AND LOST THEIR LIVES...
    YOU ARE NOW LYING THE THE SOIL OF A FRIENDLY COUNTRY.
    THEREFORE REST IN PEACE.
    THERE IS NO DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THE JOHNNIES AND THE MEHMETS TO US WHERE THEY LIE SIDE BY SIDE HERE IN THIS COUNTRY OF OURS...
    YOU, THE MOTHERS, WHO SENT THEIR SONS FROM FAR AWAY COUNTRIES WIPE AWAY YOUR TEARS; YOUR SONS ARE NOW LYING IN OUR BOSOM AND ARE IN PEACE.
    AFTER HAVING LOST THEIR LIVES ON THIS LAND THEY HAVE BECOME OUR SONS AS WELL" - ATATÜRK 1934
    Read more