Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Serengeti National Park Camp

    June 27, 2017 in Tanzania ⋅ 🌧 13 °C

    We arrived at the campsite just before dark, our tents had already been set up for us and dinner was almost ready. We put our stuff in our tents and went down to the dinning area to have dinner - tonight was spaghetti bog and it is ranked the worst meal of the trip so far! I had to cover it in tomato sauce so I couldn't taste it.

    After dinner we went to bed, we were told not to take food into our tents or leave them open as hyenas quite often frequent the campsite and they will destroy a tent to get to food if they can smell it. We were also reminded not to walk around without a torch here or by ourselves as we are in the middle of a national park with wild animals including lions and leopards.

    I woke up in the middle of the night, at about 1:00am needing to pee but I could hear lions calling to the rear of the campsite, they sounded close so I was too scared to leave my tent - there was no option other than to hold on, it was one hell of a challenge.
    Read more