Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 36

    Shearwater Explorers Village

    July 14, 2017 in Zimbabwe ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    This campsite looks amazing, the campsites have cement blocks for the tents and lots of green grass surrounding them with a huge undercover meal area and kitchen. The bathrooms were clean and modern. There was a bar and restaurant area as well as a beautiful pool, I am very happy to be staying here for a few days.

    We set up our tents and then all met at bar where we were one of the hotel's staff members gave us information about optional activities available in Victoria Falls. I have decided to do a guided tour of Victoria Falls, bungee jump and the lion encounter.

    The second to last night we went out as a family for dinner where we all ordered different meats such as warthog, crocodile, impala, giraffe etc. I tried most of them but my favourite would have to be the crocodile!

    The last night at the camp I let my hair down a little bit and 'Jess the Mess' came out to play, 8 pre-mixed vodkas and 5 double shot vodkas with coke all within two hours was probably not the best idea. I was drinking because my tent buddy Nicole was leaving me and was already out drinking with her new tour group. We also met the new people joining our group that night, it first time we have met so I probably didn't give a very good first impression. I ended up in bed at about 12am but woke up at about 12:30am and vomited in my tent, once I made it to the bathroom I rested there for about an hour. The next morning was a struggle but no sympathy because it was self inflicted!
    Read more