Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 37

    Lion Encounter

    July 15, 2017 in Zimbabwe ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    I walked with lions!

    The lion encounter was probably ranked in the top five things I have ever done in my life, words can't even explain how amazing it was.

    We started the day super early and it was freezing, we got onto the bus and drove about twenty minutes before reaching to start point. On arrival we were split into two groups of seven people and allocated a guide, our guides name was JB. The other guide Paul gave us a talk on what they do in relation to lion conservation and how they re-introduce the lions into the wild that have been brought up in captivity for some reason.

    After we walked for about two minutes before they moved us off to the side of the road, they gave us safety briefing on how to walk with the lions and what not to do. they told us that the lions are only seconds away and then out of the bush came two lions by the names of Layla and Lulu they were both almost three years old. My initial reaction was to step back, to be honest I shat myself because they were huge! I was expecting little cubs. We started walking with them, one person at a time would stand next to them and pat them as they walked. I was so nervous but soon relaxed until the other lion decided it was play time and pounced on the one I was walking with, we got to watch them as the ran around playing with each other. When they sat we took photos with them while we gave them a pat, it was amazing. I felt like everyone got so much time with them, by the end of the hour you could tell that they were getting a little bored and wanted to do their own thing.

    I would highly recommend this to anyone, it was an amazing experience - it was that good that I was tempted to go again the next day, well worth the money!
    Read more