Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 331

    Day 332: Royal Palaces of Savoy

    January 12, 2018 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 6 °C

    Back out into Turin today, checking out the Royal Palaces of the House of Savoy. The House of Savoy is one of Europe's oldest aristocratic families, having first risen to power in France in the 11th century - it lasted until 1946! I assume the family is still around, but I don't think they control anything anymore.

    Despite being French and ruling over south-eastern France, western Switzerland, and north-western Italy, they moved their capital to Turin in the mid-17th century and began a big construction program. They built a large royal palace and several other smaller palaces befitting of their capital, most of which survive today.

    We'd seen most of them a couple of days ago, so today we just wandered around and filmed in a leisurely fashion. It was quite nice to already know what we were up against, and I didn't need to do extra research as that had been covered! I could just show up, remember what I wanted to film, and go. All up it only took us a couple of hours.

    More pizza slices for lunch at a trendy place, though we also had some delicious arancini balls too. Did some shopping in the afternoon where I bought a couple of new pairs of jeans - the ones I'd bought in Krakow in October had already worn out!! Hoping I get a bit longer out of these ones.

    Back home where we relaxed for the rest of the afternoon/evening. Pasta for dinner as usual!
    Read more