Satellite
Mostra sulla mappa
  • Giorno 33

    Day 33: To Portomarin

    13 giugno 2023, Spagna ⋅ ⛅ 70 °F

    I walked out of Sarria shortly after sunrise accompanied by throngs of young people….
    I admittedly had a certain trepidation about how the Camino would change after Sarria knowing so many new pilgrims would be joining the Camino.
    To receive the official documentation that you have done the pilgrimage to Santiago, you have to prove you have walked the last 100k or biked the last 200k to Santiago. Since Sarria is just over the 100k mark it’s a very popular place for an official start, therefore over 70% of official Compostela walkers skip the first 700k, and just start their Camino in Sarria. I passed the official 100k to Santiago marker today around lunchtime.
    And so… starting in Sarria there is substantially more noise and especially more young people.
    My day did start off really busy however it was really fun talking to all the young people. One group of kids that were all around 15 doing a summer school trip presented me with a small tote bag with their school logo and wanted a photo with me. I’m not sure if it was because I had already walked 700k, or they thought I was really old and perhaps they should get a photo now because I may not make it to the end….
    A little later while having coffee I met Mario. He is 74 and has walked 11 Camino’s. Wow! A bit later on the trail, I ran into him, and he told me he was watching me walk and I should not hunch over so much and keep my head looking further down the path. I’ve been working on it, but old habits die hard…. Thank you, Mario.
    Although the trails were more crowded, there is some universal slinky rule that dictates the ebb and flow of crowds. You can always walk between the crowded sections or walk in them. It’s all a matter of pacing yourself. So, all in all it was a beautiful day surrounded by periods of silence alternating with throngs of new peregrinos discovering the joys and aches of the Camino.
    By the time I arrived in Portomarín I was in dire need of a toilet. I crossed the big bridge over the river to discover a large flight of stairs as my final challenge before I could find a baño and a cerveza. Glad I made it….
    Tomorrow to Palas de Rei…
    Leggi altro