Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 72

    Old friends and “oh you didn’t hear?”

    September 6, 2020 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 68 °F

    On Saturday, we reconnected with Alvin and Laurie Thompson at their home just 15 minutes where we set up camp.

    We got caught up with their kids, parents and new active retired ministry.

    As I was relaxing and going to bed, I zipped off a quick email to Sue Brunemeier, a long lost friend from Cochabamba who lives in Spokane. (When we were in Spokane back in 2005 and we forgot to call Mark and Sue up, I made a mental note to myself to remember).

    This morning when I checked my email, sure enough there was an email from Sue. She suggested a Denny’s off of I 90 on our way to Seattle.

    We had to load the Scion in the Fred Myers’s parking after Glenn filled Magnolia up with gas (Kroger).

    As Sue was sitting down, I asked where Mark was and her reply instantly drummed up tears and complete shock to my face. “oh you didn’t hear? He died of instant heart attack just over a year ago.”

    For the next hour we talked about his untimely death, emotional and support system and old friends from NTM and SAMAir days in Bolivia.

    It was very emotional to spend breakfast with Sue and learn at the same time of his death and heart attack. It made me realize that “our days are numbered” and to be thankful for the 40+ years I’m enjoying with Glenn
    Z
    Read more