Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Made it to South Africa

    May 30, 2023 in South Africa ⋅ 🌙 57 °F

    Yes, the flight was long.

    Before boarding, we were in line next to group 1 and started talking to a family of 23+ folks where they were celebrating the 80th birthday of the grandfather. They’re from Columbia South Carolina and had heard of Ben Lippen where Glenn went to high school. They were going on a 2 week safari.

    I had been seated in premium plus section of the plane, which is behind the sleeping pods snd very much like a US domestic first class seat. Glenn was 4 rows behind me.

    No one was next to me. So Glenn identified himself to the flight attendant that he had ordered children food menu since he had just had oral surgery.

    The flight attendant upgraded him next to me!

    We slept pretty good. I slept from midnight to 4am where we were served s snack. Then I slept off and on for the next several hours. I did finished watching “The Notebook”.

    We walked through security with no problems since we only had carry ons. And there was a guy holding a sign with my name. That’s never happened before.

    We are checked into the Mercur. We’ll fly our on Wednesday morning.

    We are 7 hours ahead of Dallas.
    Read more