Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    RIP Camino Ninja

    July 28, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    A sad update, one I never wanted to write. On this Camino and others, I’ve used and use Camino Ninja, an amazing app that shows me just the things I need and nothing else. It is the brain child of founder and sole programmer Andy Max Jensen, who walked over 20k Camino miles to map the roads and feed them into his app.

    Camino Ninja is free. And the best of the bunch.

    Today word reaches me, that Andy, aka Camino Ninja, has died after collapsing on the Camino, a mere handful of miles ahead of me. He was 49. Andy was the Pilgrim’s Pilgrim. He was, in person, in email, on Instagram, and as a coder, always there for everyone. He walked with pilgrims to hear their stories, stories that strongly influenced how he worked on his websites and app.

    Tonight I’ll raise my glass in his honor. May he forever feel the soft ground of an eternal Camino under his feet.
    Read more