Satellite
Show on map
  • LCRA Camp Creek Park

    September 25, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 77 °F

    Jan, Arlie & I went to 'Tiny Fest' at Pioneer Farms this morning. It was , well, interesting. Tiny homes, Van Life and build your own RV/Nomad Rig has become so popular that I don't know how i feel about it. On the one hand it's helpful to see people's rigs and find out more about how they are doing things. But it also means the people who are doing conversions have lots of work and don't want to just do some minor stuff or little jobs. It also means there are a lot more people filling up campsites, reststops etc. I think seeing the amazing build outs and how much more room the just slightly bigger vans create makes me so envious and tempts me to go bigger. But I really don't want to go into debt.....so...I think I just need to find my TRIBE. I felt very comfortable with the crowd at the Women's RTR and it looks like they are planning to have it again in 2022. If they do, I will definitely be there. And I am hoping to join a caravan before that!

    Anyway, this weekend Jan and I took a little overnight trip to a campground just an hour from Austin. We stayed at Camp Creek Campground which is an LCRA facility. It was out by Lake Travis but small and remote, only a few sites, no running potable water but it did have a port-a-potty. We got to go swimming which I have been yearning to do.

    I did not bring Jay for 2 reasons: she is still limping and is supposed to rest and the waters in the whole Austin area are contaminated with toxic algae. Keeping her out of the water would have been impossible. It seemed so strange to not have her with me.
    Read more