Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Red Rock Canyon Drive-By

    October 9, 2023 in the United States

    The drive from Mono Lake to Red Rock Canyon and Vegas was mostly boring, almost like West Texas but even flatter! 3 hours with Nothing! Not even a gas station. When I finally hit a little town, I stopped at a gas station/candy store: in fact; The Largest Candy Store in Nevada! They had some interesting stuff I'd never seen before and I had some awesome homemade ice cream for lunch.

    Got to Red Rock Canyon State Park about 5 PM but they were still requiring timed entry tickets, which I didn't have. So I drove a little further up the road and ended up at a viewpoint as the sun was illuminating the canyon. Perfect timing. So got some nice photos. Will have to come back to go camping & hiking someday.

    Spent the night in a cheap Super 8 motel in Vegas. But at least I got a shower and a good night's sleep.
    Read more