Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27

    Macinaw City

    June 17, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 70 °F

    So we are now following the Michigan lake shoreline on Hwy. 2. Our site last night was pretty rustic, no weed trimming here, sort of over grown, and as a result I had my first tick encounter. Yep, found it crawling up my pant leg. Was not a "happy camper" at that time!
    After recovering emotionally, we headed east to the "bridge". Mackinac bridge one of the longest suspension bridges in the US. Safely crossed, sighting a couple of jet boats heading to Mackinac Island, and was sort of envious. We have been a couple of times, but it is still a fun place to visit!
    Visited the US Coast Guard ship, the Icebreaker. The name speaks for itself. One of the largest ships used to break the ice in the lakes so shipping can resume in the spring. Lunched in town and as we sat down at our table found another (!) tick on my arm! I am now getting a little put off by this and Tom won't sit next to me! I guess everything is supposed to be "bad this year", like the heat, drought, mosquitos, cicadas, etc. Gosh I hope I don't find more of them this summer working at the state park?!
    We then drove around with just the jeep to do a little sightseeing. I always enjoy driving neighborhoods and seeing homes on the lakeshore...
    We had a little problem with electrical cord connector to the jeep, so will have to problem solve that tomorrow.
    Got a site in the Petoskey State Park for the evening. Just a short walk to Little Traverse Bay... park is pretty full, maybe 90%. Sites a little old, and definitely not level.
    Read more