Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 152

    Back into Many Glaciers

    September 24, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 48 °F

    As I mentioned in the last footprint you drive out of the east entrance of the park get to a little town of Babb and then drive back into the park in a slightly more northern section. This entrance into the park takes you to the Many Glaciers area. There is a lot of hiking out of this area, particularly to Grinnell Glacier. They also have a lodge located here on Swiftcurrent Lake, unfortunately it was late in the season and was closed. I would have liked to have seen the interior because it is one of the older lodges.

    I didn't do the hike to Grinnell which is 11 mi round trip, but I did have enough time to do a short 2 and 1/2 mi walk around Swiftcurrent Lake. Really enjoyed my time and had a lot of different views of the surrounding peaks. I didn't see much animal life except at the very beginning of my hike when I saw a small herd of Big Horn sheep uphill from the trail.

    Back to the car where Tom was waiting, (patiently) for me to complete a hike. How could I miss hiking it Glacier- it's what you do! It was a great drive out, (this part of the park) we had two different bear sightings. One was pretty far uphill from us and really was just a big brown blob on the rock, but the second one was right by the road and completely observable. Neither of us had ever been this close to a bear. It was really exciting. (We were in the car which helped!)
    Read more