Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    The calm after the storm

    November 15, 2018 in Indonesia ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    Last night produced the biggest storm, cracking thunder, ongoing lightening and heavy and long downpours of rain. I loved it, although I wish our room was closer to the beach as I would have loved to pop out under some shelter and watch it.

    I don’t know what time I woke this morning but I popped some panadol to try and ward off a slight headache which wasn’t too bad considering how much we’d drunk yesterday. I woke again at 7am really hungry and wanting breakfast but when I suggested brekkie to TAB he said soon. Soon must have ended up being at some stage at 8am as I think I fell back asleep.

    As I’d done no exercise today it seemed like the perfect opportunity to have a dessert breakfast so I went with banana and honey on toast, bread and butter pudding with custard and banana fritter with custard. Feeling guilty I got a bowl of salad (they didn’t have the nice vegies today) and some dumplings. I heard someone saying how good the banana pancakes were and I was tempted but chose to give that a go another day.

    The sun was shining and it was hot and humid after the rain so the pool was my planned hang out. TAB wanted to go to the room to “read” (sleep) for a while and he was gone for hours. I didn’t realise how hungover he was but it seems he was struggling. I wondered why he wasn’t giving Kevin the coffee farmer much love this morning, I don’t think he was up to speaking too much.

    TAB befriended Kevin the coffee farmer at breakfast yesterday. He works for the hotel wait staff and got to talking to TAB about his love of coffee. They were talking for ages and we didn’t believe that his name was actually Kevin but he said that it is his real name. His mum is from England so he ended up with an Anglo name - too funny. He is a lovely guy so TAB will have to make it up to him tomorrow by having a decent chat with him.

    I thoroughly enjoyed laying by the pool, getting some sun, having a swim, totally relaxing. There weren’t many people around and you don’t get any sellers hassling you like at the beach. I was just getting up to go to the room and grab a JB can when TAB showed up. He said he’d slept a little but was still struggling. He really did a good job last night and I don’t feel so bad about my effort the night before ....hehehe.

    We literally spent the whole day at the pool and it was the best. I was going back and forth to the room the get a can out the fridge which kept me moving instead of downing drink after drink without any break. We also ate the leftover “salty” snack from the foodie tour so we didn’t need to go anywhere for lunch.

    After a couple of hours TAB decided he’d have a drink to try and come good. Bintang didn’t work so he went to Long Island Iced Tea....seriously, what was he thinking? He reckons it worked so he had a couple of other varieties of cocktails and just hung out in the pool chatting to the bar guys and other people that he could strike up a convo with.

    We had planned to call the kids at 4 as it was 7 at home and by then I think he was drunk on cocktails again, OMG! We had them on speaker but for some reason it was hard to hear. They were at TABs parents for dinner so we chatted for a little bit to catch up and make sure they were alright before saying goodbye. We gave Jack an update on all his mates he’d met at Kangaroo Bar so he was happy. Ti wants sunnies and is going to send a photo of what she wants. She’s been sending Snapchats of Archie pretty much every day which have been great fun to watch.

    After a final drink we went and showered then hit the streets to find dinner. We were looking for grilled satay skewers but ended up at a cafe called Rice Paddy in one of the back alleys. It had nice Indo food, TAB had beef curry and I had a chicken a vegetable dish. Both were really good and it was around AUD$20 including a beer and water each.

    We wandered on after dinner and found a little homewares shop that had prices so I bought a couple of small things which ended up cheaper than the price tag as the lady said everything was 50% off. We kept walking and bought a few other small things and got disorientated with where we were and how to get back to the beach.

    TAB asked someone where the beach was and he sent us on the right track and we ended up going down a main road full of bars and shops. We stopped in a bar that had live music and they had Corona (yay!) but the bar was average so we left after one drink. We walked past a restaurant that had fresh seafood on ice at the front so TAB got to talking to him and we might give that place a go tomorrow night.

    There was a nice little bar on the next corner so we popped in there for a pina colada and it’s one of the best cocktails I’ve had since being here. The people next to us had skewers on a little grill bought to their table and that sparked our interest so we ordered a serve of mixed skewers which was beef, pork and chicken with satay sauce - yum!

    We were done after that so walked down the end of the road and sure enough the beach was there and our resort was just around the bend. Another day just whiled away. Bali time is leisurely on one hand, but goes very quickly on the other.
    Read more