Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Swim, drink, eat, repeat

    November 16, 2018 in Indonesia ⋅ ⛅ 31 °C

    Today was much the same as yesterday except I got up for a run this morning. I needed it too as I totally cracked the shits because I couldn’t find our room card, even though I’d looked everywhere, including TABs wallet, numerous times. He was trying to still sleep during all my shuffling around but I ended up asking him where the key was and he didn’t know. I was getting flustered as it was close to 6.30am and the later I got on the beach the harder the run was going to be because of the heat. I told him I was going to take the card from the power slot which meant he’d be left with no aircon and he said to leave it and that he’d only be at the gym or the pool.

    I left slamming the door complaints that I was going to be really happy walking around the whole resort looking for him so I could get into our room (a slight exaggeration). So off I went and I ran in the opposite direction than the other day until I reached a water run-off then I turned back until I got to 30 minutes- it was damn hot! I jumped straight into the water and was instantly refreshed, it’s such a nice temperature.

    When I got back to the resort I went to the shower at the pool to wash off and TAB wasn’t there. Then I heard him call out to me so I went across to the gym but he wasn’t there. Then I started to think that I was hearing things so I turned back and there he was. He’d been walking up the stairs to breakfast when he called out which was why I couldn’t see him. He told me that the room card was in amongst all the other cards I’d pulled out of his wallet in my frustration earlier. I have no idea how I’d missed it as I’d looked numerous times, and I thought I’d gone through each card individually.

    I had a quick shower and met him at breakfast but didn’t eat the usual as I wasn’t feeling 100%. I had a couple of banana pancakes with fruit and a bowl of muesli with fruit. We went for a walk along the beach and ended up at the same place I ran to. TAB went straight to the pool and I got sorted back at the room and took my time as I still wasn’t quite sure how I was feeling.

    I laid in the shade at the pool and had a Coke Zero as I wasn’t sick as such, I just wasn’t feeling my normal self. TAB went to the Kangaroo Bar to try and fine the sunnies man, Donny, as the lense had come out of a pair of the sunnies he’d bought. A while later he came back to get money as he’d been talked into buying some caps and he was still waiting for Donny so I went with him

    We ended up staying for a while and I was drinking Bintang Radler which is a lemon flavoured version of beer, in fact it doesn’t really taste much like beer. You can get an orange version as well which isn’t as readily available but I bought one from the mini mart the other night to taste and I’m yet to give it a go. TAB ended up getting talked into buying another pair of sunnies after he showed the guy who had stopped, Harry Potter, what had happened to his pair. They ended up being cheaper and better as he’d been ripped off the first time.

    I have no idea what time of day it was but food felt like a good idea so we ordered Nasi Goreng with Sate as Jack told us that we had to get it. Rudi ordered it for us and it was delivered straight to our spot on the beach within about half an hour and Jack was right, it was bloody beautiful. For only $5 each it was a pretty big meal and I couldn’t eat all of mine. After lunch we got a foot massage each from Emmy and her daughter-in-law, Emma. They were $5 each and mine was just a bit of a rub from Emmy but TAB got the real deal.

    Between us we’d bought nine beers so they rounded it up to 10 by giving TAB one to go. We got as far as the resort pool and TAB was onto the cocktails and doing the rounds of chatting with everyone in the pool while I was onto some nanna napping (I’m sure I was dribbling). I didn’t really feel like drinking anymore but I needed a bit of a pep up so I got into the pool and ordered a cocktail. It was the worst cocktail I’ve ever had and I couldn’t finish it all. It was some hazelnut, chocolate, butterscotch thing that sounded good but was full on. I was trying to avoid anything creamy because I still wasn’t right but it wasn’t a good selection.

    We went to the room to shower and head out to dinner and TAB was ready to party. I couldn’t have felt less like parting than what I did right then. We went out to find the seafood restaurant we’d seen the other night and found it easily enough but we weren’t ready to eat so we walked a bit further and stopped at a nice looking place that we found our was fairly new and has a good menu with live music. They had Corona so we gave it a go and it was nice but not amazing.

    After that we went back for seafood and TAB ended up with a full lobster at market value which was 1m rupiah, equivalent to AUD$100. I had a combination seafood stack which was really nice but I got too full too quick. I felt really uncomfortable and just wanted to go to sleep. TAB got through all his chilli lobster but it almost beat him. I could tell he was struggling but given how much it had cost him he wasn’t going to leave one piece of flesh on the plate.

    Then I was going to leave a couple of prawns and he couldn’t see that happen so he ate them and some of the fish from my plate. Amazing effort!

    It slowed him down though and thank goodness he said he couldn’t fit anything else in and needed to go home. That’s exactly how I felt and even though I hate to waste these amazing balmy night by going home early, no amount of staying out was going to make it fun. We were in our room by 8pm, laying on the bed like beached whales. We watched Netflix for a while and that was that. Another day gone.
    Read more