Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 34

    Italy Lesson #1 get your coffee right!

    June 4, 2018 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 24 °C

    For lovers of coffee looking for tips - in Italy there are a few things you need to get right.

    First of all - you need to know what you want. I asked for a cafe latte with half milk. I basically got a glass of warm milk - weak and gross. I asked for an espresso to add to it. They watched with a horrified look as I poured the espresso into my latte!

    Secondly - say it loudly! My first mistake was asking for a cafe macchiato meekly amongst the noise of the morning rush hour. I ended up with an Americano. I also received rolling eyes and I am sure some Italian swear words when I said I wanted the macchiato.

    Thirdly - skull and go. Yup, more eye rolling and Italian swearing (with a bit staring from others in the cafe) when you take your little coffee (and the bonus glass of water) to sit down.

    No fear - I have been able to order coffee properly after 3 days in Italy with the compulsory cornetti!

    I have made the mistakes for you so you can thank me later 😂 cheers, Erin
    Read more