Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 76–77

    Belén and Londres

    December 2, 2023 in Argentina ⋅ ☀️ 32 °C

    After we had already taken 1 rest day yesterday, which was filled with todos, I very much craved a second one to just hang around in the garden and do nothing for once.

    Matt wanted to carry on and left early to head south, while I stayed in Belén, hoping to spend another night in the cute hostel we had been in.
    Unfortunately, by the time I got hold of the owner (who must have been in a deep coma until 12pm), all the rooms were booked and due to a big quincinera party taking place that evening camping in the garden was also no option. Bye, bye, chill restday...but by now the predicted headwind had picked up, and so it was no option to cycle accross the 80km stretch of nothingness to the next bigger agglomerate of villages.

    So I packed up my things and cycled the 15k to the last little vilage before a long stretch of nothingness, called Londres.

    It was not my lucky day today...The lady at the first hospedaje I tried refused to accomodate a solo traveller, as that would "fill up rooms that could be accomodated by more people". Well, thanks for that.
    Most other places looked shut and so I had to place all my hopes on the very last hospedaje before the end of the village.

    When I arrived the door to the place/garden was open but it was noone to be seen. Like in many south American places there was a number on the door to call or message but for 2h nobody responded. Not willing to give up (plus the place looked quite nice and had 2 adorable cats) I spent the time lounging in the garden and waiting for someone to show up.

    Finally someone appeared, and I got a whole dorm room to myself, yey!
    Since the weather was extremely hot and humid, the bit of afternoon that remained was spent eating ice-cream, snackin, doing some travel planning and being lazy.

    But wait! There were two more surprises:
    1. A (more or less dead) baby Teratula that I found right next to my bed
    2. Some sort of Gaucho procession passing by right in front of the Hospedaje

    🚴‍♀️Distance cycled: 15 km
    🍦Ice-creams eaten: 2
    🐈 Cats in hospedaje: 2
    ✈️ Flights to Patagonia booked: 1
    🕷(Dead) Tarantulas found in doorm: 1
    🏇 Gaucho processions seen: 1
    Read more