Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Friends reunited

    July 11, 2016 in Japan ⋅ 🌙 25 °C

    I decided to hop the train a couple of stops to Shinjuku for a little wander round. It was starting to get dark so I knew the neon lights would be out soon. My friend Sayaka, who I met on my Scotland trip a few years back, asked if I wanted to meet her after work for a drink. I ended up getting some close up views of Shinjuku Tower and the Cocoon tower. When Sayaka arrived we didn't know what we wanted to eat so we just chose a place at random. The whole menu was in Japanese so I told her to just order anything and surprise me. A grapefruit sour drink, Sea urchins, snails, grilled tuna head, self grilled peppers (my chop stick skills are something to be desired, dropping one of the peppers on the floor) sashimi and tuna sushi. Every bit of it I tried and every bit of it I liked, especially the snails. We then ended up having a drink in a Kirin bar. Monitoring beer for her and a Kiran hard cider for me. A very pleasurable evening. She is a funny girl that Sayaka.Read more