Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Chilling up high

    July 12, 2016 in Japan ⋅ ☀️ 30 °C

    It's been rather a hot one today so far. Sun shining and very humid. I started my morning off by hopping the Yamanote line to Nippori so I could have a walk around Yanaka Cemetery. It was nice to be in a peaceful place in the middle of the hustle bustle of Tokyo. There were so many crows there just sitting off on some of the gravestones. I thought one was actually a statue and got a fright when it squawked at me.

    Next, I decided to get back on the train to Ueno but at the last minute I changed my mind and stayed on to Tokyo Station then headed for the Imperial Palace Gardens. I didn't see any Koi carp but I did see a bottle nose turtle. It was so hot walking around the park though. I was melting!

    After the gardens I made my way to get the train to Odaiba. Again, another last minute change of plan. I noticed that the next stop was Hamamatsucho and remembered there's an observatory floor that I wanted to check out. I wasn't disappointed. How can you not love sitting with a 360° view of Tokyo accompanied by calm piano tunes. I'm still sat up here typing this. I suppose I better make a move.

    Onward to Odaiba!

    Jah!
    Read more