Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Golden Pavillion

    July 20, 2016 in Japan ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    I decided to be lazy and take a taxi from Arashiyama to Kinkaku-ji. It was actually my first time in a Japanese taxi on my own so I was a little bit worried. My fare came to just over ¥2000 for a 20 minutes ride. I paid the taxi driver with a ¥2000 note and some change and he had a very excited reaction. I had no idea why at the time but it seems like ¥2000 notes are not that common in public.
    Anyway, I had reached one of the iconic places of Kyoto, the Golden Pavillion. Because the weather was so bright, everything just looked amazing. The lush greens and the gold of the temple itself. It was a nice walk through the temple grounds too but me being as pale as I am, I was feeling the heat and the burn. I decided to take some shade with a green tea flavoured soft ice cream.
    Read more