Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    And it begins

    October 5, 2022 in Portugal ⋅ ⛅ 64 °F

    Getting ready to start my walk tomorrow. I have laid out a certain structure to my days. As the Camino is really the way of St James, I plan to start each day with a reading from the book of James. As I begin my walk, I’ll listen to a worship playlist in order to be in the right head space to give my day to God. Then I’ll walk without listening to anything, really focusing on being present and open to whatever opportunity presents itself. When I start to tire, I put together a list of albums that I listened to in high school and college- Carole King, Fleetwood Mac, Joni Mitchell, CSN&Y. Listening to that music is like a warm blanket on a cold night and is bound to take my mind off any physical discomfort I may be experiencing. Then I want to listen to more contemporary music. I’ve asked my kids for ideas but if you happen to be reading this and have some newer music that you really like, message me!
    I am walking with just the items I need for the day and having my pack transported from place to place. Some hard core Camino walkers would call this cheating. I call it smart! I took a picture of everything I’ll carry in my daypack. Heavy on the foot care products!
    Read more