Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Sights, sounds and tastes of Porto

    October 5, 2022 in Portugal ⋅ ☀️ 72 °F

    Up early-ish to explore Porto. First stop- the Porto Cathedral to pick up my pilgrim passport. I will carry this with me all the way to Santiago, getting it stamped at various churches, cafes, albergues along the way. You need it stamped twice a day in order to get your Compostela when you get to Santiago. Not sure why getting that is significant, but what the heck!
    Spent the rest of the morning and early afternoon just absorbing the city. Then did a food tour late this afternoon. That is such a fun way to experience a city! My daughter Cailin turned me on to it when we traveled together, and ever since it’s something I book in just about every city I visit. Had to dip out early though, to meet with the rep from Portugal Green Walks- the company I used to book the trip. They gave me a bunch of stuff including a nice little book with a preview of each day’s walk. Now getting packed up to get an early start tomorrow.
    Read more