Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    2nd walking day- Vila do Conde to Espose

    October 7, 2022 in Portugal ⋅ ☀️ 70 °F

    Slept so great last night! And I needed it! I needed to remedy my pack situation so walked 4 miles to the next town to get a day pack and found a great one that will make this experience far less painful! I did have to walk through suburbia to get there but I’m comfortable with suburbia. Too comfortable!,(“Oh look! A Staples!!!”)
    Have now made it back to the Camino and I think it only added @ 2 miles to my walk today. One thing I have learned so far (besides the valuable lesson of the pack) is you never pass up a:
    Bathroom
    Water fountain
    Place to get something to eat
    Which brings me to where I am right now, at a little beach restaurant grabbing a sandwich. I have walked 8.5 miles today and have about that much more to go so seems like a good move!
    The Portuguese eat 4 meals a day except they call the late afternoon one a “snack”. It’s not a snack. So I’m with them for the first 3 but can’t do the 9:00 dinner- mostly because I’m in bed by that time- but really, who wants to eat a big meal at that hour?
    Oh! Also something I’ve learned is - you have to download what you want to listen to! So I did that and besides my worship music early on it’s Carole King day. And I’m sorry fellow Peregrinos, but I just can’t stop myself from singing along and may even doing a little dance step or two!
    Oh- also- things are really cheap here. I am eating a big ol grilled ham and cheese sandwich and a Coke Zero and the tab was under 5 bucks. But I guess the pay is really low, so there’s that…but it’s great for tourists!
    Well-finished my sandwich so I’m off for the next 8 miles.
    I’ll post some pics from my journey so far today.
    Read more