Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    1st Day Trekking

    October 6, 2022 in Portugal ⋅ ⛅ 66 °F

    Started from Matozinhos today up to Vila do Castell. About 12.5 miles in all. It was an easy- ish 1st day with no significant climbs. I did get stuck having made a rookie mistake. I agonized for weeks on how to carry what I needed for the day. I had decided on a hydration pack and a Fanny pack and had done several walks with this combination which worked fine. Then I saw a bigger waist bag with pockets for water bottles and thought that would be the better way to go. So I ordered it but never tried it out before I left. So when i put it on today- fully packed- well, if you’ve seen the scene with Reese Witherspoon in “Wild” you get the idea. My lumbar spine was not happy. So- I have pulled out everything that wasn’t absolutely necessary and I’m gonna try to fashion some shoulder straps to help with support. We’ll see how it goes tomorrow.
    I was in and out of cell reception so could not follow through on my listening plans. I saw and talked to a couple of other pilgrims today. A young lady from Switzerland and Jerry from Dublin- also a recent retiree. Jerry has been adventuring since he retired. Went half way around the world on a cargo ship and has also completed parts of the northern route.
    So far I am really enjoying traveling alone! There is something really freeing about doing what you want when you want.
    It will be an early night for me. Didn’t sleep well last night and want to be fresh for the walk tomorrow!
    Read more