Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Reykjavik

    August 6, 2023 in Iceland ⋅ ☁️ 54 °F

    After an uneventful flight I arrived in Reykjavic at 7 AM. Took 2 buses to get to my hotel, the Reykjavic lights. BTW, no Uber or Lyft in Iceland. Wonder of wonders, the front desk lady actually had a room available to put me in, (she charged me $30 for early checkin - worth every penny!). When I opened the door to room 318 I could see why it was available. In fact she may have just had someone clear out a coat closet right quick! When they say “twin” , they ain’t messing around, It was about the size of your average jail cell. But as they say, it was clean and I was dead tired. So I broke the cardinal rule of overseas travel and I took a nice long nap. And it was wonderful.
    Feeling refreshed-ish I decided to walk the 2 miles into town. Last time Grant and I were here we did a walking tour of Rek, (That’s how us cool people refer to Reykjavik.)., but we didn’t spend much time just, you know, loitering. That’s because a certain husband of mine hates to loiter. Oh, he’ll be all like “No honey, that’s fine”, but while I poke into this shop and that he just kind of…lurks? And I can see in my mind’s eye his inner toe tapping and my inner Catholic school girl guilt going wild. So, though I love him lots, it’s fun to just take my time and absorb the energy of a place on my own.
    It’s a great walkable city. Very clean and safe. I think Iceland is rated as the safest country. I’m pretty sure that’s because, as I understand it, the criminal element hates the cold. Also because- no guns?
    Anyhoo, got back to the hotel @ 6:30 and was in bed at 7:30 for a looong, deeep sleep, having left a wake up call and set my alarm for 5:15 to meet my group down at the bus station.
    I awoke to a totally light room and looked at my watch. 9:30!!, NOOOOOOO! I had clearly slept all the way through and had missed the departure of my group by hours. Always cool and calm in a crisis, I began whipping my pajamas off thinking, “There is clearly something wrong here!!). Totally disoriented, I managed to dial the front desk, my intent being to verbally rip whoever was lucky enough to answer a new one! “I left a wake-up call for 5:30”, I shouted into the phone. “Yes, madam?” “Well, what time is it now?” “9:30”. This guy was sounding way too calm in the face of my own hysteria. “AM or PM?”, I asked, the tiniest edge of mousiness creeping into my voice.” “PM.”. “On what day?”, ever quieter and more subdued. “Sunday, August 6, 2023”, said he, adding the year like he thought I was disassociating. “Ok. Thanks”.
    So. It is now 12:21 AM. I figured as long as I was up may as well have a snack and ate the 1/2 a Margherita pizzaI had left from dinner.
    And now I get another 5= hours of sleep. G’night,
    Read more