Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Make and mend

    July 18, 2023 in Sweden ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    Usually a day off spent repairing the ship, the rigging, your clothes, etc
    Today was spent repairing myself, yesterday's sailing got me quite knackered so after some hesitation and being almost ready to go in the morning, I opted for a day of nap, playing music, doing laundry, etc. And pondering my next stops, but the weather looks rather changing and unsure for the next few days… But, at any rate, the forecast predicts less wind than the past days, so I might have to be more subtle in my sailing to take advantage of what is there.
    Seeing the ferry boats ply back and forth across the channel all day long reminded me of when I was sailing in yesterday. Arriving at full speed and trying to judge when they would cast off and where they would be when I reach their lane since, well, big ships have priority over little sailboats. It was a bit like in the old video games, trying to judge the pattern of the turtles in Super Mario 🤣. My timing wasn't perfect, and I had to deviate to stay clear of both ferry boats, but it was all good 😊
    Now, early dinner and a good night's rest to be ready for tomorrow!

    -----

    "Confectionner et rapiécer", anciennement une (demi-) journée pour s'occuper du matériel et des habits. Pas de navigation pour moi aujourd'hui, la journée d'hier m'a laissé fourbu et un peu trop fatigué pour aborder la journée avec confiance. Aussi, après une bonne dose d'hésitation, j'ai opté pour rester à quai à Öregrund, me reposer, faire une bonne sieste, un peu de guitare et d'harmonica, et une lessive.
    Je me suis aussi penché sur les cartes et la météo pour les prochains jours. Le vent semble plus changeant et globalement moins fort, il va donc falloir que je me montre plus fin navigateur et pas juste compter sur les capacités de surf d'Elvira 🤣
    En me promenant autour dans l'après-midi et en voyant les deux ferries qui font des aller-retour entre les deux rives, je me suis rappelé mon arrivée pleine balle hier. Essayer d'estimer où ils seront quand je croiserai leur route car : gros bateaux sont prioritaires sur les petits voiliers. C'était un peu comme dans un vieux super Mario, essayer de juger le déplacement des tortues pour les éviter. Mon estimation n'était pas parfaite et j'ai dû zigzaguer pour être sûr de passer au loin des ferries, mais tout s'est bien passé.
    Maintenant, diner et au lit 🤣
    Read more