Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Slow blues en E

    July 23, 2023 in Sweden ⋅ ☀️ 17 °C

    Another day cut short by a lack of wind.
    Started all OK, like the other days.
    Like the other days, there was just enough wind in the morning to get going. After rounding the island I had spent the night on, it was a nice succession of broad reach tacks while the sea was increasing a bit.
    The first calm happened around 1pm, and fortunately it didn't last long, it was pretty uncomfortable to stay windless in these waves. When the wind picked up again, it came 180° from where it previously was, which means that for a while I was able to surf while going against the wind with Elvira. But all good things must end. As a short sea gradually came from one direction, while the longer one still lingered on the opposite side, the wind disappeared entirely, letting me in an even more uncomfortable sea, with the sails flapping about in all directions.
    I tried to limit Elvira's pitch and roll but without much success. After waiting for what felt like a long time, I decided to give up on today's objectives and to fall back on the nearest marina with the help of the motor.
    It's quite a nice place, though, and I was able to swim in very clear water.

    ---

    Encore une journée coupée courte par le manque de vent.
    Elle n'avait pourtant pas trop mal démarré, mais un peu comme ces derniers jours en fait.
    Il y avait juste assez de vent pour avancer tranquillement. Après avoir contourné l'île où j'ai passé la nuit, j'ai pu faire une succession de bords au grand largue dans une mer qui allait grossissante (ce que j'ai pris pour un signe que le vent allait tenir...).
    Le premier passage de calme est arrivé vers 13 h et heureusement n'a pas duré longtemps : ce n'était pas confortable d'attendre sans bouger dans les vagues…
    Quand le vent a repris, il avait fait demi-tour et je faisais maintenant du surf en remontant au vent. C'était assez rigolo, mais toutes les bonnes choses ont une fin et celle-là de fin est venue assez vite… Une mer faite de courte vague venant d'en face, c'est ajouté aux vagues plus longues qui venaient toujours de dernière et quand le vent a disparu, je me suis retrouvé bringuebalé dans tous les sens. J'ai essayé d'atténuer les mouvements d'Elvira, mais sans trop de succès. Après avoir attendu pendant ce qu'il m'a semblé longtemps, j'ai affalé les voiles et mis le moteur en marche pour rejoindre la marina la plus proche.
    C'est un endroit plutôt sympa et j'ai pu nager dans une eau vachement claire.
    Read more