Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 33

    Now I Love the Outback!!!

    March 28, 2021 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 33 °C

    An amazing adventure day, car us going and we were off!!! We roadtripped with our neighbours and headed out to Lake Moondarra first, a man-made lake that holds all the water for Mt Isa, even found some peacocks for Donna! Onto the Junction again where we chilled out on the water....geez its good to be near water, there were even some little waves when a boat or two went past!

    But the most amazing part of the day was put trip out to an abandoned granite mine about 15mins out of Mt Isa....I've been bagging the outback, and missing the coast, but light bulb moment this afternoon....now I understand why everyone loves the outback.....it was amazing!!! Actually amazing is an understatement! The views over the plateu as the sun went down and the moon came up were worthy of any travel show! The silence, and the feeling of remoteness were overwhelming, we drove in by 4wd (only way to get there), I did all the driving, so was very proud of my 4wd skills (I only learnt to drive 4wd a few months ago). As the moon rose from behind the rocks it took my breath away, and I even stopped talking for a bit!!!

    Thank you Angela and Rick for taking us there and for sharing some photos as my phone went flat. The centre of Australia is mindblowing, and I for one can't wait to see more..stay tuned for more adventures in the near future.

    Ally and Shaun
    Xxx
    Read more