Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 31

    Goodbye Africa - It Was Magical

    November 13, 2023 in Tanzania ⋅ ☁️ 24 °C

    My 4-week safari trip around Lake Victoria has come to an end. It is with a crying and smiling eye that I say goodbye to newfound friends, an amazing continent and all the wild animals.

    I can wholeheartedly say that I managed to get everything out of this overland tour that I wanted and then some more:

    1) Managed to finally spot the leopard and thus completed seeing the Big Five
    2) Saw an incredible amount of animals with the highlight being some playful lions 2 meters away from our 4x4
    3) Visited the three most renowned national parks in East Africa (Masai Mara, Serengeti and Ngorongoro Crater) and other hidden gems (Lake Nakuru, Lake Mburo)
    4) First time kayaked and did Grade V rapids - nearly died, but that story is for another time
    5) Got an interesting, even if devastating insight into the causes, effects and aftermath of the genocide in Rwanda - something I wanted to see since I watched Hotel Rwanda many years ago
    6) Had an amazing time with my fellow travellers on the truck and made friends along the way - even if those looooong drives on the truck kinda suck
    7) Saw four different countries (Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Tanzania)

    To make a long story short: amazing memories to last a lifetime, great new friends to be seen again and finally saw all the Big Five (gotcha you leopard!) and Ugly Five and invented the Sexy Five (Giraffe, Thomson Gazelle, Cheetah, Flamingo and Zebra).

    Goodbye Africa for now. I will see you later. Asia, here I come.
    Read more