Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Bizzy

    March 24 in France ⋅ ☁️ 13 °C

    So Biarritz is lovely, big surf scene here and it's got pockets of fanciness without being in your face about it. Always a sign of a town doing well when there are tonnes of e-cargo bikes and exotic mid-sized dogs. It shows they've got time to think about the nice-to-haves and space to physically put them. Also there's lots of public toilets?! That are free? Without a woman in it demanding coins!? If covid put a stop to that then it might have all been worth it to be honest.

    Check in wasn't until 3pm so I spent a few hours walking around the waterfront, grateful for the incredible stink resistant qualities of merino after four flights and about 40 hours in transit. This included a locally sourced Red Bull which was not big or clever of me but look it needed to be done, see previous sentence. Also it will make Josie laugh.

    Coming back to the hotel I was thrilled to receive a room upgrade and noted a strong orange velvet couch motif, thoughtful of them to make me feel at home. Unsure if I was more excited about my gigantic sandwich or a shower at this junction, I enjoyed them simultaneously.

    Laundry is going to be a daily grind so I knocked that out then, 4pm local time, crawled in for what I intended to be a small nap but ended up taking me to 9.30pm. I did a late night 5km walk, being Sunday and maybe just the way this place is, it was very quiet and I felt safe mum I promise.

    In a feat of self discipline I managed to fall straight back to sleep at midnight so I reckon I'm on the body clock bandwagon now, let's bounce.
    Read more